Ask Your Question
2

How do I install the Cinnamon Desktop on Fedora Workstation?

asked 2017-01-14 12:08:47 -0500

ceres2009 gravatar image

updated 2017-01-14 12:32:28 -0500

mattdm gravatar image

I set up my laptop with f25 64-bit default Workstation. Now I want to install the Cinnamon desktop group, which fails with:

Environment 'Cinnamon Desktop' is already installed, skipping.

But despite that message, it is not selectable in GDM. And, when i try to remove it with:

sudo dnf group remove cinnamon-desktop-environment
Last metadata expiration check: 0:13:30 ago on Sat Jan 14 18:40:58 2017. 
Dependencies resolved.
Error: The operation would result in removing the following protected packages: dnf, systemd-udev, systemd.

Is there a possibility to resolve the issue and install Cinnamon without using the Cinnamon Spin on Fedora 25? If not - would it be possible to install from the Spin?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

Comments

1

Is the package cinnamon-session installed?

mattdm gravatar imagemattdm ( 2017-01-14 12:36:27 -0500 )edit

The cinnamon package requires cinnamon-session so can't be missing

$ rpm -q --requires cinnamon |grep cinnamon
cinnamon-control-center
cinnamon-desktop >= 3.2.2
cinnamon-screensaver
cinnamon-session
cinnamon-translations
config(cinnamon) = 3.2.8-1.fc26
libcinnamon-desktop.so.4()(64bit)
libcinnamon-menu-3.so.0()(64bit)
geforce gravatar imagegeforce ( 2017-01-14 14:12:05 -0500 )edit

@leigh123linux — it actually can be missing, if the cinnamon environment wasn't actually installed. Which seems to be the case here....

mattdm gravatar imagemattdm ( 2017-01-15 09:55:26 -0500 )edit

4 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
2

answered 2017-01-14 12:51:38 -0500

mattdm gravatar image

sudo dnf group install cinnamon-desktop should work, but in messing around with this, I manged to make DNF confused, so I was in the same state you are in: Cinnamon definitely isn't installed, but DNF thinks it is. There's probably a bug to be filed here, but the workaround is to use:

 sudo dnf group mark remove cinnamon-desktop

to remove the mark that DNF uses to keep track of its idea that the Cinnamon group is installed. Having done this, group install will stop complaining that the group is already there, and everything should work.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

thx mattdm, that did it!

ceres2009 gravatar imageceres2009 ( 2017-01-15 02:16:31 -0500 )edit
1

answered 2017-01-14 12:25:05 -0500

geforce gravatar image

Try

sudo dnf install @cinnamon-desktop
edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

How does this differ from sudo dnf install @Cinnamon Desktop'? I can tell something is different because the lower-case, no-space-but-dash version wants to install 97 packages on my system, while mixed-case with space wants to install 128

mattdm gravatar imagemattdm ( 2017-01-14 12:38:21 -0500 )edit
1

Your command installs libreoffice group in addition

<category>
    <id>cinnamon-desktop-environment</id>
    <_name>Cinnamon Desktop</_name>
    <_description>Cinnamon provides a desktop with a traditional layout, advanced features, easy to use, powerful and flexible.</_description>
    <display_order>22</display_order>
    <grouplist>
      <groupid>cinnamon-desktop</groupid>
      <groupid>libreoffice</groupid>
    </grouplist>
  </category>
geforce gravatar imagegeforce ( 2017-01-14 14:09:20 -0500 )edit
0

answered 2017-08-12 21:16:35 -0500

avramoff gravatar image

It is as simple as you might wish explained in the Fedora Wiki at: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SwitchingDesktopEnvironments

First see what the groups you have to install with:

sudo dnf grouplist -v

The result should be, as it was with me, being installed the Cinnamon Spin, like that:

Available Environment Groups:

Fedora Custom Operating System (custom-environment) Minimal Install (minimal-environment) Fedora Server Edition (server-product-environment) Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment) Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment) KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment) Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment) LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment) Hawaii Desktop (hawaii-desktop-environment) LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment) Cinnamon Desktop (cinnamon-desktop-environment) MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment) Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment) Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment) Web Server (web-server-environment) Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment) Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment) Installed Groups: LibreOffice (libreoffice) Fonts (fonts) Hardware Support (hardware-support) Available Groups: 3D Printing (3d-printing) Administration Tools (admin-tools) Ansible node (ansible-node) Audio Production (audio) Authoring and Publishing (authoring-and-publishing) Books and Guides (books) C Development Tools and Libraries (c-development) Cloud Infrastructure (cloud-infrastructure) Cloud Management Tools (cloud-management) Container Management (container-management) D Development Tools and Libraries (d-development) Design Suite (design-suite) Development Tools (development-tools) Domain Membership (domain-client) Fedora Eclipse (eclipse) Editors (editors) Educational Software (education) Electronic Lab (electronic-lab) Engineering and Scientific (engineering-and-scientific) FreeIPA Server (freeipa-server) Headless Management (headless-management) MATE Applications (mate-applications) MATE Compiz (mate-compiz) Medical Applications (medical) Milkymist (milkymist) Network Servers (network-server) Office/Productivity (office) Python Classroom (python-classroom) Python Science (python-science) Robotics (robotics-suite) RPM Development Tools (rpm-development-tools) Security Lab (security-lab) Text-based Internet (text-internet) Window Managers (window-managers) GNOME Desktop Environment (gnome-desktop) Graphical Internet (graphical-internet) KDE (K Desktop Environment) (kde-desktop) Games and Entertainment (games) Sound and Video (sound-and-video) System Tools (system-tools)

As for every group - for example, "Gnome Desktop Environment (gnome-desktop)" - as it is written a little above, you should type with "sudo dnf install", exaclty what is in brackets, like (some-desktop-environment), but with At "@" infront/ So the command for installing "Gnome Desktop Environment (gnome-desktop)" should be:

sudo dnf install @gnome-desktop

the command for installing Cinnamon Desktop (because it isn't between the upper listed, because my Spin is with Cinnamon anyway, IS:

sudo dnf install @cinnamon-desktop-environment

that's it.

edit flag offensive delete link more
-1

answered 2017-01-14 20:10:48 -0500

mrkenhill gravatar image

instead of using dnf do:

rpm -qa |grep cinnamon (to see what pieces are installed)...

rpm -e (all of the rpms for cinnamon)

Then - dnf install cinnamon-desktop

If there is an issue with dnf - this will get around it.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2017-01-14 12:08:47 -0500

Seen: 15,286 times

Last updated: Jan 14 '17