Ask Your Question
3

Review Applied Updates in GNOME's Software App

asked 2015-07-28 21:11:40 -0500

Tdub gravatar image

updated 2016-01-26 06:29:49 -0500

mether gravatar image

I am using Software version 3.16.4 on Fedora 22. The software app notified me of a system update that requires a restart. After the computer restarted I opened the software app and received a dropdown notification to review the updates. Once I closed the list of updated software, I cannot find a way to review that list again.

How can I review software that I have installed, uninstalled, and updated with the Software app?

Example of updates you can review only once.

image description

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

2 Answers

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
3

answered 2015-07-29 16:30:01 -0500

BRPocock gravatar image

Gnome Software uses PackageKit, which writes to the system journal.

You can review this log with journalctl -t PackageKit; for only the changes in the current boot, add -b 0; previous boot, -b -1, and so forth.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

The systemd journal does list the packages updated by PackageKit.

Example entry:

Jul 31 00:57:44 localhost.localdomain PackageKit[640]: in /150_dceabbbd for update-packages package libsss_idmap;1.13.0-2.fc22;x86_64;updates was updating for uid 0

Tdub gravatar imageTdub ( 2015-07-31 01:11:08 -0500 )edit
0

answered 2015-07-29 14:06:04 -0500

NuuN gravatar image

updated 2015-07-29 14:06:32 -0500

man dnf shows one solution: sudo dnf history info last. That shows all the transactions from the latest update. You could delve further by tweaking the history options and specs.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

sudo dnf history is helpful to review changes I've made with dnf, but I don't see changes made by gnome-software in the list.

Tdub gravatar imageTdub ( 2015-07-29 15:57:15 -0500 )edit

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2015-07-28 21:11:40 -0500

Seen: 76 times

Last updated: Jul 31 '15