/ and /home in different hard drives

My laptop has a 20 GiB ssd and a 500 GiB HDD. I would like to install the system (Fedora 35) on the ssd for faster booting speed and set the HDD for storage, but I’m not finding how. If anyone could help…
Thanks in advance

(I’m a beginner)

Look at Documentation Fedora 35>installation guide > installing fedora > installing using anaconda

It’s all in there but you have to read through it as there is a lot in there.

1 Like

Most important for you will likely be this and the subsequent:

For some people it is easier to use the “click here to create them automatically” function (see figure 16 in the second link) and then adjust it instead of doing everything on themselves.

1 Like

Automatic config is probably not wise with the layout the OP is asking for. Fedora 35 by default creates a btrfs file system for / and /home, but it presupposes they are both on the same physical volume. As such it likely would span a single btrfs volume across the 2 drives and with one as SSD and the other as HDD that arrangement has been known to cause issues.

@joshington
If I am reading your request correctly it seems you are installing this as the only OS on the laptop.

If that is correct, then I suggest you use the custom config for the installation and define the 4 default partitions as such.
/boot/efi (the esp partition) as vfat, ~200 MB on the SSD
/boot as ext4, ~700 MB on the SSD
/ (your choice of btrfs or ext4) as the remaining space on the SSD.
/home (your choice of btrfs or ext4) on the HDD.

The manual config is not really difficult, but you do have to tell it what to put where as you set it up. It is also more difficult to manually define btrfs volumes so establishing the partitions as ext4 is a lot easier IMHO.