Arch files in nonarch directory when using alien

I want to install craftstudio.deb, and so got alien, sign in as root, and type cd Desktop, then ~find
CraftStudio.deb, and then alien -r CraftStudio.deb, but then it displays an error: arch files in a nonarch binary or something. please help, I am new to installing via terminal in linux, and any help would be appreciated.

Hello @epeon: welcome to Fedora! Please take a look at the introductory posts in the #start-here category if you’ve not had a chance yet.

Well, alien does a pretty good job of converting debs to rpms, but it may not always work. Could we have some information on what we’re trying to do here?

• what version of Fedora are you on?
  • what software/tool are you trying to install?
  • can you please summarise the steps you used and copy-paste the commands + errors for us?

Hi @epeon,

Are you trying to install this CraftStudio? It doesn’t look like an open-source project. Otherwise, it is more reliable to repackage from source, then install the package. Perhaps you can convince the vendors to consider rpm-based distros :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Have you seen Superpowers?

2 Likes

I’m new, so what do you mean repackage from source?

[root@localhost vanNiekerk]# cd Desktop
[root@localhost Desktop]# find CraftStudio.deb
CraftStudio.deb
[root@localhost Desktop]# alien -r CraftStudio.deb
Package build failed. Here's the log of the command (cd craftstudio-1.3.0; rpmbuild --buildroot='/home/vanNiekerk/Desktop/craftstudio-1.3.0' -bb --target noarch 'craftstudio-1.3.0-2.spec'):
Building target platforms: noarch
Building for target noarch
Processing files: craftstudio-1.3.0-2.noarch
warning: absolute symlink: /usr/games/CraftStudio -> /opt/CraftStudio/CraftStudioLauncher
Provides: application() application(CraftStudio.desktop) craftstudio = 1.3.0-2 mimehandler(x-scheme-handler/craftstudio)