Are the Discourse badges somehow connected to Fedora Badges?

Hi,

I am new to the Ask Fedora Discourse instance and as such realized that Discourse by itself provides the users with Discourse badges. Since these badges are also kind of achievement based in nature, I couldn’t help but wonder if these badges are somehow connected to the Fedora Project Badges (https://badges.fedoraproject.org)?

If yes:

• Where can I find the details about this?

If no:

• Why not? Wouldn’t it be better to be able to track all types of badges in a single place?
  • What are the challenges in implementing this?

Regards,
Sayak

No they aren’t.

I think that someone should study Discourse badges implementation, study how Fedora Badges work, and find a way to bridge these systems.
And nobody volunteers to accomplish this task.

1 Like

I can volunteer to look into it as I already have some understanding of how Fedora Badges work. However, I would still have to look into how Discourse badges work to check if this is feasible to be done.

4 Likes

Please also note that we do not host Discourse and so cannot make additions to it to emit signals/messages that are generally required for automation in Fedora badges.

4 Likes

Apart from @FranciscoD point out, automatic discourse Badged are disable by default and only can be enable by discourse staff, because Discourse leave in a container, is a bad SQL is executed, that affect the performance off all discourse instance in the same Container…

Apart from this too… we suppose we are a GOOD SQL person… and a GOOD Ruby Developer…

This is my personal investigation about this:

1. Install plug-in
  2. beginner guide to creating plug-in, is a series of 7
  3. Rails tools for generating plug-in

There are few ways to define Badged on Discourse:

1. Automatic Badged:
  • PROS Althought Discourse has a good gamification system but a plus is always Welcome
  • CONS That all, is nothing to mention
  1. By Group