Best driver for Radeon 5500?

I am having some problems that I think are issues in the amdgpu driver.
I started playing with Fedora 35 kde installed on removable media on a computer with a Radeon 5500, mainly because I hope to buy a new graphics adapter for my actual Fedora 35 kde system and want to know whether Radeon will work well for me.
Both systems have multiple displays on one graphics card. The one that currently has a Radeon has four displays.

The liveUSB I started from had several malfunctions that looked like issues with having four displays. It took a few reboots to get beyond that.

In a fairly small amount of use, the install I have now has randomly dropped the ability to display contents of two of four displays a few times. Bizarrely, the mouse cursor can still display and move on those displays. But the displays are otherwise black. Dragging a window around on those displays shows only the mouse cursor, not the window being dragged (but the window is intact when dragged back to the working displays). Once I managed to get the displays back by disabling and reenabling them in system settings. But another time that didn’t work and I needed to reboot.

Is there a better driver that will fix this? With online searches I can only find obsolete instructions for closed source radeon drivers, not current instructions.

My past Linux experience has all been with seriously obsolete Nvidia cards, including the card I want to replace in my Linux machine. In all cases (several different cards in different computers but all obsolete Nvidia) the Nouveax driver is always a hopeless pile of crashes, while the oldest architecture version of the closed source Nvidia driver mostly works.

Reading online would make me expect the amdgpu driver should be reliable for the 5500, and I can’t be the only one trying to use four displays. But it sure acts like problems that in my past experience were driver bugs.