Bluetooth Keyboard: Compose Key stopped working after few minutes

Hi all,

i’m new to this one, registration process with oauth2 was frustrating, but i get finally there. as you may noted, English is not my native language.

But anyway, i have a little issue with my new fedora 33 Installation on my Lenovo T590 running Gnome 3.38.1 on X11: I’m using a MX Master 3 Keyboard by Logitech (german layout) I’ve enabled Compose key with the tweaking tool mapped to right control. After Login, the key works a few minutes, but after that time it behaves like Right CTRL again.

There is no issue at all, if i’m using the unify receiver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

2 Likes

This seems to be a likely bluetooth issue. I have a logitech bluetooth keyboard that I reverted back to using the unifying receiver because of certain instabilities in the way it worked. I can’t help with the fix, but you are not the only one to have problems with bluetooth keyboards.

2 Likes

I confirm similar behavior with my Logitech k810 bluetooth keyboard.

Specifically, my compose key binding gets lost in the following scenarios:

• suspend and wake the computer
  • switch the keyboard power off and back on

My laptop’s builtin keyboard is not affected by this problem; only the bluetooth keyboard is affected.

Workaround #1 (X only, not Wayland):

Alt+F2 r

Workaround #2

#!/bin/bash
save=$(gsettings get org.gnome.desktop.input-sources xkb-options)
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.input-sources xkb-options "[]"
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.input-sources xkb-options "$save"

Put that in a file on your path and mark it executable. I named mine fbk for fix bluetooth keyboard. Then I do:

Alt+F2 fbk

I tried creating a udev rule to execute it automatically when my bluetooth keyboard gets connected, but that didn’t work because udev rules are executed by root not the user logged into the graphical session.