Build fedora, maybe installation ISO

Hello,

I’m trying to build fedora for a 32bit machine.

I have experience with BLFS.

I am willing to spend a week or two building fedora if it requires so.

I already made a few kernels from linux source code.

All of that to say that I am uninterested in responses such as “You can’t do that bro! It’s too difficult!”

I’m still a noob, because I do not know how to do this, hence why I’m making this thread.

I want to build an installation ISO of fedora. I downloaded wget -r --no-parent --reject “index.html*” https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/32_RC-1.6/Modular/source/

I do not know what are those repositories used for.

Is it possible to just install an old version of fedora compatible with 32bit architecture and then update it from there using dnf? (I think could use the old version’s tools to build an installation ISO of the new version (provided I update tools with dnf and make a newer kernel))

Or maybe I could use mock to mimic the desired environment (https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/How_to_create_a_Fedora_install_ISO_for_testing)

Fedora workstation is preferred.

I’m asking for a few directions and quick guides. Hope that isn’t a problem.

Just keep in mind, it’s not the one or two weeks of initial work, you need to keep constantly maintaining your 32 bit kernel, that will keep you busy (or unsecure).

2 Likes

No, not possible because starting with F31 (?) the upgrade path is broken because of missing .i686 kernel packages (and I think many other packages as well).

1 Like

If it is OK for your 32bit machine to use outdated software, then the easiest method would be to install from a 32bit F30 iso, and then modify that installation’s repo files to point at Fedora’s archive server (that’s also where you can get the ISOs from). That way, you’ll still be able to install stuff as usual, but you’ll be stuck with whatever package versions F30 had.