Dual Monitor Stops Working After Fedora Sleeps/Suspends Fedora 35

Hello!

I am brand new to Fedora and just installed Fedora 35 on its own SSD in my MSI GS65 Stealth.

The issue:

• Whenever the computer sleeps/suspends and I turn it back on it seems the NVIDIA Driver (I have an NVIDIA 2060) stops working? I have a second display and it just totally goes black even when I reboot the computer.
  • Also, the WIFI stops working and it shows no WIFI card is even in the system. This is fixed when I reboot unlike the graphics issue.
  • Two errors pop up in Problem Reporting tab. Both say kernel-core unexpected system error. “A kernel problem occured, but your kernel has been tainted (Flags:GW)”

I’d love to use Fedora, but this is so annoying and I can’t find anything online that actually works to fix this. Thank you!

Hello @dandex200 ,
Welcome to the :fedora: discussion area!. For the WiFi, check out this https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/how-to-keep-internet-connection-connected-without-interruption/15767/4. It is likely related to the power profile and I believe the solution I linked will rectify your connection issues. The NVidia/Dual monitor issue, I really cannot help out with since I run an AMD GPU.

1 Like

I have seen this with the nvidia dual gpu design. It seems to be related to using the default driver for the IGP and the nvidia driver for the GPU.

What I have done that totally solved that issue is set the nvidia GPU as primary so it can drive both devices.

1. copy /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/nvidia.conf to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/nvidia.conf
  2. Add a single line to both stanzas in that file that will make the nvidia driver primary and prevent the conflict between drivers for the 2 devices.
    Option "Primary" "yes"