Edit /etc/fstab with no acess

Sorry, may be wrong category, but did not see a better option.

I am a noob, really. Many years ago I used to use Fedora 14, and still have it installed as dual boot with Windows. Recently I messed up adding an extra hard-drive to my Fedora install. Now when I try to boot Fedora I get the error message that it is failing to mount the added disk and kicks me out to a command prompt to fix the disk header, and it gives me only read access to files. I do not have the extra HDD anymore, long story, and need to be able to edit /etc/fstab to remove the last line which refers to the mounting of that disk. However the console has only read access so I am unable to edit /etc/fstab.

I have tried to use both RescueDisk, and a lice image of Fedora 32, but so far have not figured out how I can mount my resident Fedora 14 install.

I would be very grateful for any help ! I would include an image of the boot error screen (I took a picture) but I do not see a way to include an image here.

What I would try here is to boot into the Fedora Kernel using init=/bin/bash on the end of the linux line, like so:

After you boot, you will be presented with a root shell which looks like below:

bash-5.0# _

Type the command mount and you should see your Fedora’s root partition mounted as ro,realtime. You should be able to re-mount this with rw permissions by executing the below:

mount -oremount,rw /

Now, the partition should be mounted in rw mode, like below:

From here, you should now be able to vi /etc/fstab and remove/modify anything before rebooting normally.

3 Likes

Hi @njaimo before you use the command vi /etc/fstab, watch some guide for how to use the vi text editor, is a powerful editor, but not exactly a friendly one for novices. :slight_smile:

Quick command reference: https://cheatography.com/adzz/cheat-sheets/vi-editor/

To edit press the i button an than you can start to write before the cursor position.