Fedora 30 upgrade log in loop

Hi Fedora Community
I have recently upgraded to Fedora 30. The upgrade appeared to go well.
When trying to log in I was stuck in a log in loop. After reading up I tried creating a new user and the new log in was fine. I then tried disabling gnome extensions using gsettings get org.chrome.shell enabled-extentions “” and got the following:
CRITICAL **: Failed to get connection to xfconfd: Cannot autolaunch D-Bus without X11 DISPLAY
dconf-WARNING 88: failed to commit changes to dconf Cannot autolaunch D-Bus without X11 DISPLAY
I am a novice in these matters but have been using Fedora for many years. I rely on it. Any help would be gratefully appreciated.
PD

1 Like

Same here.
It seems to login, but instead of gnome session, login screen reappears.
Tried both, Wayland and Xorg…
Password ist definitely correct: I tested by Input of a wrong one that was instantly marked as being wrong, so no Typo or such!
Maybe usefull information: I had my system set up to automatically log in as I’m the only user and disk encryption is on…

As suggested in thread
https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/gnome-is-not-working-after-upgrade-from-29-to-30-dnf/565

I created a new user and the gnome session came up. So I’m going to disable my extensions one after the other, as the extensions-tool has no “all” option…

Of my 11 extensions installed, I disabled all but caffeine. Now the Gnome session is up!

1 Like

I am stuck in the login loop and can’t create a new user or don’t know how. I clicked “not listed” and made a new login and pass and it says “Sorry that didn’t work. Please try again” ? Help is greatly appreciated! I cannot load any of the old versions as they do the same login loop. I used dnf upgrade to upgrade through Terminal. I did everything right, upgraded fully before install followed the instructions to a T. I tried recovery boot, to no avail…