Fedora33 on raspberry pi 4: update problem

Hi folks, I’m new to raspberry and since I prefere fedora I installed it on a pi 4 following this guide: Fedora on Raspberry Pi :: Fedora Docs

I used “Fedora-Server-33-1.3.aarch64.raw.xz” from the official download page since those images suggested in the guide above are version 33-1.2 (see here) and didn’t boot, maybe the p4 is not yet supported by this version.

So I installed v33-1.3 using this commandline:
arm-image-installer --image Fedora-Server-33-1.3.aarch64.raw.xz --target=rpi4 --media=/dev/sdg --selinux=ON --norootpass --resizefs

This actualliy did boot and seems to be full-functional.

Problem:
Whenever I update (with “dnf update”) after the next reboot
→ WIFI-Interface completele disappears
→ USB also disappears, so no working Keyboard anymore

What can I do?

1 Like

I found the f33 base (33-1,3) works on a pi4. The kernel you get from a dnf update seems to have a video driver that does not work. Also I found the wireless hardware disappeared when I did a dnf update also. SO, stick with the base and avoid a dnf update (for now).

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

USB is working fine with all kernels alike here, so it might be related to your hardware.

A quick fix would be to simply exclude the kernel from being updated for now. Simply add “exclude=kernel*” to /etc/dnf/dnf.conf.

[main]
gpgcheck=1
installonly_limit=3
exclude=kernel*

The vc4 driver introduced in the 5.10 kernel series does not fully support the rpi4 (yet). Video works fine, but the vc4_hdmi sound driver still seems to be broken on the rpi4.
You can simply blacklist the vc4 to get working sound via snd_bcm2835, but you will be set back to the (working) fb driver for video. Hwaccel for video is (not yet) implemented anyway :wink:

You can test it by simply adding module_blacklist=vc4 to the kernel cmdline.
To test this just for the current kernel, add the entry to the appropriate config file found in /boot/loader/entries/.