Help needed: F35 Freezes when connected to wifi

Hey guys, newbie here.

I have recently updated my machine from F33 to F35. Everything works fine, but I noticed that when connected to wifi, the laptop freezes and I have to reboot the system. The specs are as follows:

HP laptop 14-cf0xxx
Processor: Intel Core i5-8250U CPU @1.6GHz x 8
OS type: 64-bit
GNOME Version: 41.2

uname -r (kernel version):
5.15.12-200.fc35.x86_64

I also have Realtek rtl8821ce wireless card and installed tomaspihno driver (on F33 system). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the community @ivevdm

Did you try to uninstall the driver and perform again the steps you followed for F33 in order to install the driver?
(Realtek chips are nasty beasts with Linux).

Maybe these other posts can be helpful? Search results for 'rtl8821ce order:latest' - Fedora Discussion

In addition I’ve noticed that some Realtek modules can’t be compiled on kernel 5.15 due to the removal of some header files, but I don’t know if this is valid also for rtl8821ce ones.

I seem to recall earlier posts about the rtl8821ce chipset and updates to the chipset that are not supported by the distributed driver. If you can post the output of lspci -nn it will provide the actual chipset id which can be used to locate the proper driver. Mine, which is an atheros chipset, give this 04:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros AR93xx Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0030] (rev 01) and the chipset ID is the part within the square braces. 168c:0030.
Yours will be similar for the rtl8821ce chipset.

Once you have the full chipset ID then a search for the driver will help.

Hello @ivevdm,
Welcome to ask.:fedora:.org.
If your networking worked prior to upgrade, it should still work, and seems to. I would be more inclined to believe it is related to power management changes made to Fedora Linux in the F35 release that may be playing a more significant role here.