How do you change default drive where programs are saved to new location/drive?

How do you change default drive where programs are saved to new location/drive?

I am new to fedora, I have my OS on an SSD and currently have apps on there but would like to mount an already installed HHD and then jave all future downloads save there. Please Help!!

Do you just want downloads on there, or other user data?

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum. Please start with the “New Users! Start Here!” for guidance on how to post questions/discussion here.

If I understand your question you want to have downloaded files go to the HDD while your OS is on the SSD.
The easiest way I can suggest to do that would be to (assuming the HDD is already partitioned and formatted with an ext4 file system and that file system is where you want the downloads) simply mount the HDD either as your users home directory (“/home/yourusername”) or your users Downloads directory (“/home/yourusername/Downloads”)
If you want to mount it as your users home directory you can first mount the HDD (I will call it /dev/sdb1) at /mnt with the command “sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt”.
Once mounted then copy the contents of /dev/yourusername to the HDD using rsync as “sudo rsync -arv /home/yourusername/ /mnt” which will preserve all ownership and permissions during the copy.
Now edit the /etc/fstab file to mount the HDD on /home/yourusername. You can do a man on “fstab” to see what is required there. Use sudo and your favorite text editor to do that. “sudo gedit /etc/fstab” will work for that if you want.
You can now do a reboot and when you log back in the HDD will contain all your home data and the Downloads directory will be the default location files are placed when downloaded.