How to do factory reset

how to reset my os back to fresh i mean factory reset. is this optipn present i did not find anything like that.

If you’ve just made user changes, it’s simple enough to make a new user.

If you’ve made a bunch of outside of user space and you’re unsure what they are it’s probably best to back-up what you wish to keep and reload.

2 Likes

What does “Reload” refer to?

Reinstall the operating-system, or create another user.

1 Like

Factory reset means the original operating system delivered with the device. There does exist devices preinstalled with Linux being rare. If you delete recovery partition, you can reinstall Microsoft W10 with .iso on their website, Apple you’re lost, Google devices leave you with ChromeOS Flex. Otherwise you just reinstall Linux taking care of secure boot in BIOS/EFI being a detail of the notion of factory reset.

reload means reinstall actually it is difficult to do factory reset a in fedora system it can be possible in silverblue or core os like distros nix like distros.
as system is always constant but here it is not the case hence it need a package or tool which will know the original list of packages and keep those packages intact instead of replaceing them with newer packages but it can be a feature request which can be implemented in future release.
edit worng written words

i was using voice typing and posted. not even verify what it predicted. sorry about that.

I apologize: I am unable to parse your response. To me, it is incoherent. Are you able to rephrase it?

If you want a system to not be updated from the initial install then I suggest you consider using silverblue. That is an immutable OS that does not get the automatic updates that are built-in with the workstation version. Thus unless & until you manually do an update it remains static.

Factory reset refers more to a router/modem/hardware-firewall (immutable os) etc. Devices you use to configure for your own environment. Factory reset refers to put it back to the state as you bought it. So that you can reconfigure, set new password etc. using the manual.

You can reset the DE if you want. @grumpey mentioned the new user but there is also possible to just reset it with (talking about gnome):

dconf reset -f /org/gnome/ #reset gnome-desktop to default settings

2 Likes

no no i know about that but still i use this actually i have installed some random packages(alot) while trying to compile chromium with some patches.
so now i can’t do just history undo so i was thinking just to reset to default but i understand that can’t be possible maybe someday.
and i am closing this topic.

Feature you’re seeking appeared in Microsoft Windows XP as system restore point being automatic in foreseeable unstable condition or manually. Can be implemented using package manager producing list of installed apps and librairies comparing for date to date in database or other, automated with bash script. Silverblue edition uses containerized environment for configured development setup allowing to rollback in minimized stable state keeping installed tool set.

1 Like

One potential method is to save and revert to a previous BTRFS snapshot after installing an OSTree-dependent operating-system, of which Fedora Kinoite and Silverblue and 2.

Fedora Workstation and its alternative “spins” should not automatically update unless that is enabled within the relevant KConfig Module.

Packagekit (gnome-software) by default does an automatic update at reboot time if the user does not uncheck the box asking to do that in the shutdown confirmation box.

I hope this progresses to make this easier.

What confirmation-box? I have solely utilized systemctl poweroff to deinitialize. Does that method potentially not invoke what you have described?

Gnome-software (aka packagekit) with its auto-update feature puts a pre-filled checkbox to perform pending updates on the final popup for shutdown/restart when using the menu from the upper right corner of the gnome desktop to do the shutdown or restart.