No boot graphics even after a complete reinstall

I don’t know what’s wrong with the update a few weeks ago but since then, when I was still on the Cinnamon Spin, my LUKS prompt have become text-based and the usual spinner with HP’s logo is now only three square dots in the middle of the screen. Even after completely wiping out everything on my drive and reinstalling Fedora (I switched to the main Workstation for F37) the issue still persists.

Is it because of Windows? I have been dual-booting Windows 10 and Fedora for more than two months now, but this issue happens only recently. I haven’t got a chance to install only Fedora on my drive, though. Also I’ve tried changing the default plymouth theme to bgrt and spinner but to no avail.

Anyway here are what I got on boot:

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Oh, and also ever since then I’ve also been getting some texts that say something about “broadcasting” and “shutdown” when I shut it down. It often flashes for just less than a second, I haven’t been able to take a photo of it.

Do you get anything if you hit escape or ctrl + alt + F3?

It needs to add at the last of kernel parameter quiet splash.
To do that, edit grub2.cfg file properly and run a command update-grub2.

During boot? I only got a blinking cursor on the top left.

Same thing with Fedora ARM64 on Pi4B… Boot, services start, then NOTHING, no image, NOTHING.

1 Like
[firman@harry ~]$ dmesg
[    0.000000] Linux version 6.0.9-300.fc37.x86_64 (mockbuild@bkernel01.iad2.fedoraproject.org) (gcc (GCC) 12.2.1 20220819 (Red Hat 12.2.1-2), GNU ld version 2.38-24.fc37) #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Wed Nov 16 17:36:22 UTC 2022
[    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=(hd0,gpt5)/vmlinuz-6.0.9-300.fc37.x86_64 root=UUID=b81787e9-0fd2-4205-9d55-1af42c4a1655 ro rootflags=subvol=root rd.luks.uuid=luks-df717762-ee07-4bc0-ab68-ef19448a8634 rhgb quiet

Huh, so apparently it’s missing the “splash” parameter…?