Numpy_financial unavailable for dnf install

As of NumPy 1.20.0, the financial functions (e.g., fv, npv) have been moved to numpy_financial. I can dnf install python3-numpy, but I can’t find a numpy_financial module on the Fedora repository. I am using Fedora 36. Is there another repository that I can use, via dnf, to install numpy_financial? Thanks

1 Like

I suggest you use a virtual environment:

python -m venv env
source env/bin/activate

Then use pip to install it from there. I strongly recommend you install python libraries sourced with pip (or conda/mamba) in a virtual env like this and never as root. Another option is to use a container or toolbox.

1 Like

I am new to Fedora, but I will look into the use of virtual environments. Thanks

2 Likes

I maintain data science (Jupyter, etc) environments in my dayjob, for what it’s worth, and I do all of this stuff in containers.

Here’s an example from one I maintain that’s itself based on Jupyter upstream that’s probably way more than you would need, but you could always base your own container from it and run it on Fedora: GitHub - UCSB-PSTAT/jupyter-base: Jupyter Notebooks optimized for use with JupyterHub

1 Like

If they’ve been split out into a new package, someone will need to package it up to make it available in Fedora.

Some more info on how new packages are included in Fedora is here:

https://discussion.fedoraproject.org/t/how-do-you-request-packages-for-build/5153/4

1 Like

I setup a virtual environment, pip installed my python packages, and activated the virtual environment. All seemed good, then…
I running Fedora 36 as a guest OS using VMWare Fusion 12.1.2. After setting up my virtual environment for python, the open-vm-tools quit unexpectedly. I tried reinstalling open-vm-tools but was informed it was already installed.
0ec3d17dd0799c0904fef9d4c2f4987f91b29e33.png