Old Kernels Removal

I see the discussion on removing old Kernels has been locked, so forgive this ‘new topic’.
I appreciate that is not considered good practice, but I would like to remove one of the three Kernels (two of which appear to be identical oddly??) I see when booting Fedora 32.
I would then like to keep just two Kernels, the current/new one and the previous/old one.
Can anyone explain how to do that? Everything I’ve googled and found so far (2 sites) have commands which are not recognised in Fedora 32.
Simply please: I’m a newbie to Fedora and only otherwise familiar with Ubuntu and Manjaro…

6 Likes

Sure, here are the steps:

You can list the currently installed kernels using rpm:

$ rpm -q kernel-core
kernel-core-5.6.8-300.fc32.x86_64
kernel-core-5.6.10-300.fc32.x86_64
kernel-core-5.6.11-300.fc32.x86_64

Then, you can remove one (not the one currently in use which you can find by running uname -a in a terminal) using dnf:

$ sudo dnf remove kernel-core-5.6.8-300.fc32
Dependencies resolved.
==============================================================================================================================================================================================================================================
 Package                                                        Architecture                                     Version                                                     Repository                                                  Size
==============================================================================================================================================================================================================================================
Removing:
 kernel-core                                                    x86_64                                           5.6.8-300.fc32                                              @updates-testing                                            72 M