Pipewire Crashing

For some odd reason pipewire, for lack of a better word, crashes unexpectedly.
It happens every hour or so, and it I can fix it by typing “systemctl --user restart pipewire.service”
It’ll happen again, of course. I would like to find out a more permanent fix. Also, I would like to know if anyone else has been having this issue.

I am new to pipewire in general, so any advice is appreciated.
I am on Fedora 35 (a brand new installation too, not an upgrade)

1 Like

Edit: I reinstalled Pipewire using “dnf reinstall”, I’ll update this later saying if doing that fixed my issue or not.

Hello @rolesg ,
Welcome to the ask.fp.o discussion area! If you did a fresh install, there will be an update pretty much immediately following since there have been updates since the release date. If your re-installation (of pipewire) worked for you, please mark the post with the solution that worked, if not let’s troubleshoot a bit.

My system was up-to-date when I made this post. Also the reinstall did not work.

I figured out the issue. My headphones were plugged into a USB audio card, which was plugged into a USB 2.0 port on my computer. Apparently it had just enough bandwidth to work, but it caused pipewire to crash, for some odd reason. I moved it to a 3.0 port on the back of my computer and pipewire hasn’t given me a peep since.

1 Like

It seams to be a power problem. On the back of the computer means USB-Port soldered on the motherboard. No power loss with cable extension.

1 Like

I would say it is more related to …

1 Like

It is a fact that a USB 3 port provides more power than a USB 2 port. USB2 is designed for 500 ma current while USB3 is designed for a minimum of 900 ma current.