Preparing/Protecting Fedora 32 for a Dual Boot Win10 installation

Hey guys,

Thank you in advance for anyone taking the time. I love Fedora 32 it’s awesome, just fallen in love with this OS. Due to work I will have to be installing Windows 10 pro as well, big bummer. Soooo sorry for such a newbie question, but I’ve never done this before in that order:

I see various documentation on how to install Fedora 32 AFTER you have installed Windows. But I see nothing on how to install Windows when you already have Fedora installed. I’m afraid the windows installer is just going to mess up my OS. Though I have already made a back-up.

I’ve searched and searched but I failed on seeing anything, is there any discussion/documentation you guys can reffer me to?

I have prepared an NTFS partition for this purpose, I leave my configuration as shown in gparted here :

If not, does anyone have any pointers on how to succeed this god-forsaken task? Shall I just jump into it?

My info below:

Host: HP Laptop 15-db0xxx
Kernel: 5.7.7-200.fc32.x86_64
Packages: 1981 (rpm)
Shell: bash 5.0.17
Resolution: 1366x768
WM: Mutter(Gala)
Theme: Adwaita [GTK2/3]
Icons: Adwaita [GTK2/3]
Terminal: io.elementary.t
CPU: AMD A9-9425 RADEON R5 2C+3G (2) @ 3.100GHz
GPU: AMD ATI Radeon R2/R3/R4/R5 Graphics
Memory: 2797MiB / 3812MiB

1 Like

Hi,

I maybe out of date here, but the recommendation to install windows first is because if its installed 2nd; it tends to overwrite grub so fedora will no-longer boot. Probably fix able with a linux live usb and reinstalling grub, should detect both the windows & fedora install.

May be easier to to install windows 10 as a virtual machine.

If you have spare drive, you could give this ago. Install windows with the fedora drive disconnected (shutdown to disconnect) install windows. Shutdown again and reconnect drive. Big downside of this method is changing the primary drive in the bios, when you want to change OS.

Thanks Tom.

2 Likes

Thank you Thom for your answer.