This problem started when I upgraded to Fedora 32 over a month ago. I’ve been putting this off because I have a little busy and I generally just ‘Log Out’ or ‘Suspend’ but now it’s becoming annoying.
Basically, after the upgrade to 32 I got the whole setup tour which you get on installing Fedora for the first time. I thought I had lost all my data on my old user however turns out the user is still there. I just have to access it by clicking ‘not listed?’ on the lock screen. This is annoying by itself but what’s even more annoying is the fact that it’s not visible in the Settings app as well.
The user is still there in /etc/passwd with the id of 1000.