Which services to disable on fedora 34 for home use

Hello, everyone!

I am using Fedora 34 for home purposes. I am a web developer and therefore use docker and sometimes not so common software.

Nonetheless, I believe there is a fair amount of services I could disable to make my machine boot and (specially) shutdown quicker.

This is the result of systemd-analyze critical-chain:

graphical.target @17.868s
└─multi-user.target @17.868s
 └─plymouth-quit-wait.service @14.043s +3.824s
   └─systemd-user-sessions.service @14.031s +6ms
     └─remote-fs.target @14.028s
       └─remote-fs-pre.target @14.027s
         └─nfs-client.target @4.502s
           └─gssproxy.service @4.493s +9ms
             └─network.target @4.489s
               └─wpa_supplicant.service @5.299s +5ms
                 └─dbus-broker.service @4.008s +53ms
                   └─dbus.socket @3.976s
                     └─sysinit.target @3.972s
                       └─systemd-userdbd.service @14.097s +19ms
                         └─systemd-userdbd.socket @873ms
                           └─system.slice
                             └─-.slice

Is there a tool that can do that for me?

If not, which services can I disable?

Regards

1 Like

It looks like most of the time is spent mounting an nfs share. Do you have an nfs share in your /etc/fstab? If so, try converting it to a systemd-automount.

1 Like

I am not sure what you can gain there. The total boot time shown is only 17.868 seconds.

It looks like 10 seconds of that is from the NFS mount.

If that is an SSD, 14 seconds is pretty slow.

Do nothing as 1.2 GB of memory for default installation is fine … maybe just switch to NVMe drive for speed gain …

1 Like

How bad an idea is to disable playmouth-quit-wait-service? Because it this only service which is taking the longest time from what I can see in my critical-chain.

└─plymouth-quit-wait.service @6.232s +4.599s