Why does Fedora have such poor support on Google Cloud?

Is there an issue with Google or Red Hat or Both?

1 Like

Hi,

I appreciate the answer, but it was actually more of a statement than a question. I am a seasoned linux admin and have used fedora since day 1. And admin RHEL currently in a large enterprise. I have used Fedora on Google Cloud since F28. Business involves more than RHEL and Centos. Fedora is the front line to RHEL and its missing the boat on cloud computing. Running Fedora in the cloud needs to be a procedure just like debian or many other distors on AWS or Google Cloud. The problem here is not a lack of community commitment or time or competence. Its either a lack of vision or politics on the part of one or both of these companies. Going through hoops to upload images and hope that google-* packages all function correctly and ssh keys work Its hurting Fedora.

1 Like

The problem is Fedora has no LTS releases which corporate-level support can be applied for.
Typically this position is served by CentOS, which can be seen as the closest option to Fedora LTS.